Wear Star Wars, Share Star Wars

I don’t know how many people heard about Katie, the “Star Wars Girl.” Last year, she was bullied at school for having a Star Wars water bottle. The outcry was huge in support of her and following her heart. (original story here: http://www.chicagonow.com/portrait-of-an-adoption/2010/11/anti-bullying-starts-in-first-grade/).

Katie’s story is inspiring. She’s right; it is very hard to be different. I’m adopted too, and I wear glasses (I have since 5th grade). Maybe I see a little of myself in Katie.

I’m a huge geek. I love Star Wars. I remember playing, with the boys, in 1st grade with Star Wars toys. I had no idea what they were, but I loved R2-D2. I do Star Wars costuming now. I fully plan on being “the geeky librarian” at whatever high school I wind up teaching in, complete with Boba Fett stuff on my desk (if I have one).

Katie has a day now. Here’s the event on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=144383089003083. Even if you don’t have a Facebook, wear something geeky to support Katie and show your geek pride.

My geek pride extends to Firefly as well:

Leave a comment

Filed under library, school

We Enjoy Your Opinion

