Dec 1, 1992

I need to apologize in advance to my dad. I know he reads this blog. I’d like to write about my mom.

On Nov 30, 1992, my mom was rushed to the hospital. I was left in the care of my grandmother, Nonnie, and promised a phone call when someone knew what what going on.

Nonnie and I stayed up late, waiting for that phone call. We never got one.

The next day, Dec 1, 1992, I remember people coming over. My dad, my aunt, and my cousin. I think Nonnie knew that the news was bad as soon as she sat down on the couch. I remember someone saying to me “Your mom is with the angels now.”

The next few weeks were a blur of food, funerals, and Tetris. I know I spent most of the wake and funeral in the downstairs smoking room of the funeral parlor. I was only nine. No one expected me to stand in line and shake everyone’s hand. I know I came up for when my teachers came.

My mom was one of the most amazing people on the planet. I realize I probably have a limited view, since I never had the rebellious teenage years with her. I never had arguments with her. My dad had to put up with those (and there were plenty. We’re both very stubborn and opinionated). I never saw anything other than the completely amazing mom she was to me.

I never got to be in my 20s and know her as a friend.

I would like to think that she would be proud of me.

It’s been 19 years since my life changed forever.

So tonight, I would like to share just a few photos I have of my mom.

Halloween 1991:

 

My mom at work:

 

Dad and Mom in Paris:

 

Dad and Mom in Paris:

 

Thank you for joining me on this virtual memorial to my mom.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under library

We Enjoy Your Opinion

