The Waiting is the Worst

Semester is over for me. Last classes of the term are on Monday. I have to swing in on Monday to see if I have graded papers in my folder. Grades should be posted by Weds. I’m excited and nervous. I think I’ve done fairly well, but I don’t know some grades, and I don’t know my participation grades. That’s always a kicker. I try to participate, but sometimes, I just don’t know what to say. Back in undergrad, it was different. I didn’t speak much in class then either, but there were always discussions on the BbVista sites for each class and that helped with participation grades.

Here’s something fun for all the teachers out there:

I deeply love Taylor Mali. It’s a little ironic that he does this amazing poetry about being a teacher, and he’s so good at it, that he’s no longer a teacher!
I have had teachers like that. My 11th grade history teacher comes to mind: a
B felt like a gold medal. Many of my English professors at Drexel were like this, with passion. One of my best moments was finishing my Senior Project and my adviser saying that she was proud of me (Thank you, Eva!). I want to be a teacher like that. I want to be the teacher who calls a parent to tell them the wonderful thing their child did.

 

This was a random find:

Quite amazing. She’s a little fast, but I like her cadence and I adore her words.

 

I spent part of today helping to judge the Fenway High School science fair. I had 4 projects to grade on a rubric. I had “Camera Aperture,” “Goldfish Breathing,” “The Effect of Nicotine on Plants,” and “Boiling Points of Solutions.”

Boiling points was dull. She was talking about how salt changes the boiling point. I think if she went a little further, it would have been more interesting.

As a photography fan, the camera one was neat. I don’t think her photos showed the effects of different aperture well, but I think that was more due to the fact that she couldn’t develop her own film. I was impressed that she used black and white 35 mm film though.

The nicotine one was fascinating. Her hypothesis was that nicotine stunts growth, which I’m sure we’ve all heard. However, the plants that got the 100% nicotine solution grew the highest!

I loved the goldfish one, but I think I’m impartial there. She showed that goldfish breathed faster in warm water than in room temperature. But, I think that was due to the shock of being placed in a different tank and a different temp. Also, a couple days after the experiment was complete, her fish died, which is so sad.

I’m really glad I got to be a part of that. It was a fun thing to do, and maybe next year, I’ll get to do it again.

Leave a comment

Filed under school

We Enjoy Your Opinion

