Links to Share, and a Discussion

Tales from the Library: just a fun link with library stories.

Urban Dictionary Is Ruining the English Language

I’m a big fan of the Oxford English Dictionary because it explains the etymology of words. Yes, this makes me a geek, so be it.

I enjoy Urban Dictionary, but it is only good for slang terms that haven’t become part of the English language fully. By “fully,” I mean “in a reputable dictionary.” I know that different dictionaries have different criteria for words.
Merriam-Webster
OED

Urban Dictionary, therefore, is not a research tool.

1 Comment

Filed under school

One response to “Links to Share, and a Discussion

  1. There are couple fascinating points with time in this post but I don’t know if these is came the heart. There’s some validity but I am going to take hold opinion until I explore it further. Excellent article, thanks and we want more!

We Enjoy Your Opinion

