Born Digital

For my LIS460 class, I’m learning about different technologies and how students (and teachers) can use them. Now, I consider myself somewhat technology savvy. I can’t program, but I can sort through HTML somewhat (I actually prefer the HTML view when creating blog posts over the Visual view), and I like playing with new tech. After all, it’s just the internet, I can’t break it.

However, students today are raised with technology. Check out Born Digital.

My dad taught me how to use his typewriter when I was younger. I was also lucky enough to have computer classes in elementary school. We didn’t do much other than learn to type and play Oregon Trail.
In high school, we got a word processor. It was a bulky thing with a black screen and orange type. ORANGE. Then, I got my first laptop. It was this 8 pound monstrosity from Gateway. It ran Windows 98 (I think), had 4GB memory, and was pretty much only good for Word and the occasional AIM session, when I could get online. Getting online was a whole new world. I had NetZero, but I had to sit in the kitchen and plug directly into the phone line.
Now, I use my (shiny, new-ish) MacBook Pro. I feel a little jealous of classmates with the MacBook Air, even though I picked the Pro over it because I like the heft to it and I like having a CD drive. I’m not exactly nice to my technology. I’ve broken a couple laptops (software issues, though I still have my 1st laptop and it still runs) and my netbook is officially dead (the screen cracked this summer, and while I was in CT this winter visiting family, it fell from the side table I left it on and the power connector is bent).
I do love my MacBook. I named her Vera.
But I digress.

Kids today have more memory in their smartphone than I did in my first laptop.

When they click Save in Word, they don’t know what the disk picture is really of.

They don’t know what the world was like before Wifi and Hotspots. They grew up with digital footprints.

It’s a brave new world.

We librarians just have to keep moving and keep up.

“‘Information science’ is code for ‘don’t worry, we’re not dinosaurs; we’ve got the electronic age covered.'” – This Book Is Overdue

Leave a comment

Filed under library, school

We Enjoy Your Opinion

