Susan G. Komen vs. Planned Parenthood

Let me come clean: I’m pro-choice. I’m also pro-health, pro-women’s rights, and pro-education.

I used to enjoy buying the little pink things with ribbons on them, like notebooks and pens, knowing that some of my money was going to the Susan G. Komen foundation. I think that a foundation that raises awareness about breast cancer and donates money to prevention, screening, and health care is a good thing.

However, I think that the re-evaluation of their funding is hurtful. I think that denying support of Planned Parenthood is shameful.

I’m sure that I don’t have all the facts. I really hope that I don’t. I don’t like to think that the Komen foundation pulled support of Planned Parenthood for something frivolous (for example, I have seen the assumption that Komen is anti-choice). “The Komen Foundation’s leadership did not respond to Planned Parenthood requests to meet with the Komen Board of Directors about the decision.” (from Planned Parenthood’s site). I think that Komen should have met with Planned Parenthood.

Here are a few links:
Baltimore Sun OpEd
Monterey Herald OpEd
NY Times : which is awesome since it explains that Bloomburg is donating money to Planned Parenthood since ““Politics have no place in health care,” he said in a statement. “Breast cancer screening saves lives and hundreds of thousands of women rely on Planned Parenthood for access to care. We should be helping women access that care, not placing barriers in their way.””

And from the Facebook page “It’s OK to be Takei“:
A supporter sent this to Planned Parenthood …
….. “This is for all the anti-choice, anti-women people out there.
Listen up. You can spend every minute of every day trying to force the rest of us to live by your ideology. You can go after federal funds for health care and pressure private organizations like the Susan G. Komen for the Cure Foundation to stop funding breast cancer screenings for poor women. You can try to make it impossible to get birth control. But you know what you can’t do? You can’t win. You can’t break us. Planned Parenthood isn’t just a family of organizations. It’s a movement. It’s women and men of all ages who believe that health care — including reproductive health care — is a basic human right. We are millions strong. We are everywhere. We act, we give, and we do whatever it takes to make sure that Planned Parenthood is there for the women, men, and teens who rely on them. Know this: When you go after Planned Parenthood and the people they serve, you go after ME. I stand with Planned Parenthood. I stand with them against anyone who wants to stop women from receiving the health care they need. I stand with them today, tomorrow, and for as long as I need to.”

Leave a comment

Filed under politics

We Enjoy Your Opinion

