Apartment Hunting

I really dislike apartment hunting. I was supposed to view apartments today with a realtor, but out of the five he sent me that were cat-friendly, only two are still available (a week later), and they both cancelled appointments with him for today. I might go see one tomorrow after work if he can make an appointment that doesn’t get cancelled.

I email apartments nearly daily. It’s hard to find ones in my price range, near the T, that are cat-friendly. Everything is so expensive!

I did make an appointment to view one today out in JP. It looks like a quiet area from the pictures, and not too far from the Orange Line (about half a mile). The bus goes right down the street, so that’s OK with me.

I think that part of the problem is, I’m still hoping that the deal for my building will fall through. However, since the 1st floor people are moving this summer already (going to Canada), the 2nd floor lease is up Aug 31st (he didn’t take a full year lease), it just feels like they want to empty the building anyway, regardless of if the deal goes through or not. This makes me feel that if we find an apartment that we like and it fits our requirements, then we need to move on it. I don’t want a nice enough place to slip through our fingers because we’re waiting for June to come.

The Waiting Place…

…for people just waiting.
Waiting for a train to go
or a bus to come, or a plane to go
or the mail to come, or the rain to go
or the phone to ring, or the snow to snow
or waiting around for a Yes or a No
or waiting for their hair to grow.
Everyone is just waiting.

Waiting for the fish to bite
or waiting for wind to fly a kite
or waiting around for Friday night
or waiting, perhaps, for their Uncle Jake
or a pot to boil, or a Better Break
or a string of pearls, or a pair of pants
or a wig with curls, or Another Chance.
Everyone is just waiting.

(From Oh! The Places You’ll Go!)

Leave a comment

Filed under library

We Enjoy Your Opinion

