Romney Rejected Birth Certificates

Romney rejected new birth certificates for gay parents
“The children of America have the right to have a father and a mother,’’ Romney said in his prepared remarks. “What should be the ideal for raising a child? Not a village, not ‘parent A’ and ‘parent B,’ but a mother and a father.’”

Excuse me, Mr. Romney, but I was raised by my father & my grandmother, since my mother passed away when I was 9. I am also adopted, so I have a biological mother who I am in contact with. My aunts took me to get my ears pierced. They also took me to get my prom dresses when I went to prom. In elementary school and high school, I had friends’ mothers who helped raise me as well. I am an example of “raised by a village.”

I am now a Master’s student in library science. I plan to go on into the education field and preferably will be teaching in urban schools. Schools with teens who have unusual family structure or who are otherwise considered “at risk.” I hope that one day, one of my students will go on to achieve greatness and say that I am one of the people who helped to raise them to where they are.

In other words, Mr. Romney, families come in all shapes, sizes, colors, and creeds. Children can achieve greatness without a “normal” family structure, or they can fail with “a mother and a father.” I feel that your singular view of the family will only harm and not help our fine Commonwealth of MA.

Please exit stage right; do not make me get the large hook. Leave the political arena. Thank you.

Leave a comment

Filed under politics

We Enjoy Your Opinion

