Brain Droppings (thank you, Carlin)

Firstly, I want to say that I am ecstatic that Obama won the election. I think that he is doing a good job and that in the next four years, assuming that the GOP can learn how to compromise and stop blocking progress (both social and economical) at every turn, Obama will get some true progress made.

I’m also very glad that Elizabeth Warren was elected to the U.S. Senate as the senator from MA.

 

Secondly, I have submitted both my practicum paperwork for next term (yay, high school!) and my petition to graduate in May. This two-year program is quickly drawing to a close. Once my semester ends, I’ll be looking into what I need to teach in other states and I’ll start applying to jobs (many may not post online until March, but it can’t hurt to start looking in Jan).

 

Thirdly, I just need to say that I’m going to miss my 3rd graders and kindergartners. They’re not always the best behaved or the most attentive kids, but sometimes, they’re sweet and really make up for the times that they make me want to pull my hair out. I’m still working on classroom management skills; I think I’ll be working on them until I retire. At least the kids are learning though! I read the Kindergarten class a book on Obama yesterday and before I got started they asked “is that a nonfiction book?” I taught them what nonfiction was four weeks ago. They remembered!

My third grade unit plan is almost done. Each class wrote their own fractured fairy tale, each student drew one picture, and next they will be recording their story on VoiceThread. Each student will read the line from their picture. I hope it all works out well.

A page from a Robin Hood and Rapunzel fractured fairy tale that one of my 3rd grade classes created. I love this student’s drawing so much! She had wanted to make Robin a girl, but I explained that Robin is a boy in the rest of the story, so it wouldn’t make sense on just her page. 

Leave a comment

Filed under library, politics, student teaching

We Enjoy Your Opinion

