Into the Ether

Ether:
1. 
Any of a class of organic compounds in which two hydrocarbon groups are linked by an oxygen atom.
2. A volatile, highly flammable liquid, C2H5OC2H5, derived from the distillation of ethyl alcohol with sulfuric acid and used as a reagent and solvent. It was formerly used as an anesthetic. Also called diethyl ether,ethyl ether.
3. The regions of space beyond the earth’s atmosphere; the heavens.
4. The element believed in ancient and medieval civilizations to fill all space above the sphere of the moon and to compose the stars and planets.
5. Physics An all-pervading, infinitely elastic, massless medium formerly postulated as the medium of propagation of electromagnetic waves.

I’m referring somewhat to definitions #3 and #4; the vast cloud above the ancient world’s mindset.

I’m in the midst of sending out job applications. It is a very interesting process. I have accounts on probably ten websites, some are websites that many places post to, like SchoolSpring, where I’ve created an account and can apply to multiple positions, and others are district or school sites where I’ve created an account simply to apply for one job. Occasionally, I will receive a personalized email in return for my application, stating that my application has been received and that I will be contacted if they are interested. Usually, however, I receive an automated response and nothing beyond that. It feels like I’m simply sending waves into the ether… or the cloud… or something.

Now, I know it takes some time to process applications and weed through it all. It takes time to decide if my application is something that a system wants to follow through on for a call or email for more information or an interview request. However,  it is stressful on my end.

I’ve started getting phone calls from realtors asking to show my current apartment to prospective renters. My lease is up on June 30th. I feel that March is awfully soon to start showing off my apartment, but there’s nothing I can really do about it. I just wish that I would be able to start really looking at new apartments in whatever area I find a nice job in!

Oh well. I will be checking my email and phone constantly in the hopes of an interview at one of the schools I have applied to. I have a few very nice choices that I’m hoping for. I’m hopeful, but a bit stressed.

Plus, I’m still working on building a Tech Forum for MSLA! I’ll sum that up with a quote from a game:

Unlike other mages, Virtual Adepts aren’t content just to seek enlightenment — it’s time to upgrade the universe’s operating system, even if it risks crashing the current program.” ~Virtual Adepts

Leave a comment

Filed under job search, MSLA, personal, school

We Enjoy Your Opinion

