Moving right along

I went out to Springfield on Saturday. The lease is all signed. Got the keys. Talked to my gas, electric, and internet about the move dates and such. The official move date is Thurs June 13th. If anyone in Boston wants to hang out with me, this week is the time!

My last day of my current job is Weds. I will deeply miss Boston Arts and Fenway High. The kids have been fantastic, the teachers are warm and were very nice to me. I hope that the new people coming into the library positions here (because not only am I leaving, but the other two have graduated as well) find the same level of awesome that I did. I also hope that there will always be a Simmons practicum or intern student here. I think that having an urban experience is so important to library science students. This is a very safe school to do it in, with a fantastic library, and with a wonderful and dedicated library director. I don’t think that I could have gotten my upcoming job without this experience. Between my classes at Simmons, my practicums, and my extra time at BAA/FHS, I feel prepared.

Today was great. We had Steve Marantz come and read during DEAR time at Fenway.  Video here: http://baafhslib.org/?p=2998

From the Springfield visit. This is the Lorax (“I am the Lorax, I speak for the trees.”)

Unless

 

Grow a forest. Protect it from axes that hack.
Then the Lorax
and all of his friends
may come back.

2 Comments

Filed under library

2 responses to “Moving right along

  1. I live just north of Springfield! We should totally meet up for coffee to catch up sometime! And if you need help moving in when you get here, I’m always happy for a non-gym workout.

We Enjoy Your Opinion

