More summer reading

Today is an exciting day. I finally got my requested copy of The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman! Therefore, today included a stop at the library. I returned Feed by Anderson, since I just was not getting into it. I also returned I am Legend because it actually seemed less interesting than the movie. I think that might be because it is an older novel and a fairly new movie. I’ve decided to power through Shadows by Bick in hopes that it gets more interesting and less jumpy.

I checked out the new Gaiman, as well as the next in the Maberry zombie YA novels. I also found Smile and Drama by Telgemeier. They are both graphic novels, so I will probably read them today. I also requested the first in yet another YA series that was reviewed as “Lord of the Flies meets zombies.” Clearly my summer is involving quite a few zombie novels, but they are really a fun genre that is booming in YA.  I also stumbled across the Girl in the Steel Corset, which is book one of the Steampunk Chronicles. I can’t say no to Steampunk novels. I love the  fantasy of them.

I am heading to CT tomorrow to visit my dad for a few days, returning home on Monday. My (may as well be) step-sister and I have some crazy plans for Sat and Sun that involve the aquarium, a mansion, LUSH, henna, baking gluten free cupcakes,  and fondue. I think it will be a ton of rather girly fun. Luckily, my dad is a good sport.

1 Comment

Filed under book review, library, personal, Springfield

One response to “More summer reading

  1. Lisa

    I am not much of a sci. Fi reader but strongly suggest you listen to Feed instead of reading the book. It is a great production. I do a lot of driving and stumbled on this book when it was the only choice I had. Love the audio.

We Enjoy Your Opinion

