Day #1

Everyone’s reaction to meeting me today: “I’m so glad we have a librarian!”

Aside from a headache, I feel that today was pretty great. Almost everyone seemed nearly goofy-excited to be back at Commerce (which is great). One teacher I talked to has been there 9 years, and I heard introductions from teachers who have been there 25 or even 29 years!

There was a lot of information to take in, and I hope that the PowerPoints go out soon.

I met three brand-new English teachers (I apparently gravitate towards the English department). One veteran history teacher approached me and asked if he could book time in the library once I got settled. I nearly took out my planner then and there! He wants to bring his 9th graders and 11th graders in once a week (wow!) to do lessons and projects. So cool, though a little overwhelming! If he comes once a week with his classes, that is basically one whole day of history students.

I also took a small tour of the school. We found the gym and the pool, where we (myself and two of the English teachers) talked to one of the physical education teachers. She seemed very nice too.

I’m going to give myself a few days to get used to the people and the school before starting in on my library website. I just really want to get it up and running before the students come in. I also may need to talk to the other librarians on how they utilize personal technology in the library because the district policy is really strict about students’ phones. It does feel like other departments got special department New Teacher days, but I don’t know for sure.

Now, I will ponder exactly how early I can go to bed and not wake up at 3am. I will probably need to stay up until at least 9pm for that to work.

Oh, and this was my first day outfit!:

1st Day

 

Leave a comment

Filed under library

We Enjoy Your Opinion

