And Ravenclaw on the West

Today I was working with the 9th and 10th grade teachers. I figured that now that the teachers are breaking into smaller and smaller groups, I need to figure out where to at least focus my energy for now. I’ve teamed up with the “9th Grade Academy.” Mostly I picked them because I feel that 9th graders are going to need a lot of attention in the library, and they might have more flexible attitudes towards the library. That and the teachers are really cool (not that the other grades aren’t!).

Anyway, we had to divide ourselves into four groups based on personality types: North, East, South, and West.

North are the “A-Types.” They are the directors, the do it now folks, maybe a little aggressive or stepping on toes.

East are the big picture folks. The people who don’t let the details bother them, as long as the big picture is there.

South are the caregivers. The people to make sure that everyone’s voice is heard and might not get things done because they are making sure that everyone gets to talk and express themselves.

West are the detail folks, the people who get down to the nitty gritty and can’t move on without knowing every piece.

I mentioned this to Jamie when I got home. He looked at me and said: “The house of Hogwarts!” I hadn’t made that connection! North is Gryffindor, East is Slytherin, South is Hufflepuff, and West is Ravenclaw. I asked him what group he thought I put myself in and he guessed West. I am totally a Ravenclaw. I can get really caught up in small details and forget about the larger picture.

Leave a comment

Filed under library, Springfield

We Enjoy Your Opinion

