Keys!

I got my library keys today! So many keys! I have the library door key, the classroom door key, the media drawers key, the cabinet key, the two file cabinet keys, the locked drawer keys (which have more keys in them, to what I don’t know), and a slew of other keys that I don’t know what they go to. It is an impressive bunch. I’m going to start shelf-reading/inventory on Friday (since I should have time to set up on Friday), so maybe I can make it through part of the collection before school starts! I’d be content with making it through Biographies.

I spent today with the ELA teachers. We discussed how to use different levels of literature to help under-performing students learn how to infer. The point made was that many students know how to read, but they can’t infer from texts. The presenter utilized picture books (not really children’s books) to show us how high school students can benefit from high quality literature that may just be in this different format. He read aloud a couple of books to us, including one called The Black Dog, which was really fantastic. It had us waiting for him to turn the pages so we could find out what happened. If we, as adults ages 25-65, wanted to know what happened with this story, then maybe high school kids would too. There was a good message in it, and students could infer what the dog really stood for in the story.

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under school, Springfield, teaching

One response to “Keys!

  1. rdambruoso@optimum.net

    Hi Allegra, I’ve been reading the blogs you’ve written during the last several days and I’m wondering how you are going to be able to process so much info.: from Boys’ Town presentations, other teachers and librarians, keys, etc.! I especially enjoyed your discussion about personality types: directors, care-givers, big-picture folks, and every-little-detail folks. What I found as I progressed through my careers as scholar, teacher, and businessman(the last not by choice) is that the situation I found myself in and/or the problem I had to solve at the time dictated the type of person I developed into.–e.g., as a scholar, like you, I was mainly an every-little-detail person; as a teacher I became more of a care-giver and big-picture person; and as a businessman I had to become more of a director type. I think that within us we have the seed of all 4 types. Which seeds are developed fully depends upon our job content and context at the time. But once that seed is developed, it stays developed and becomes a facet of our character, even if our circumstances change. Maybe that’s one meaning of the phrase ” a fully developed character.” Concerning that NEASC report from 2003: guard it carefully because the school will probably want to use its structure as a template for its current report–just filling in the blanks with updated info. rather than trying to reinvent the wheel again. I enjoyed your passage on “So many keys!” My dad used to say that you could tell how many responsibilities a person had to handle by the number of keys on his or her key chain. Finally, I found it interesting that you and the “ELA” teachers (who are they?) discussed helping students to learn how to “infer” which, I assume, means “read between the lines.” This is a common problem, even at the college-level, especially among some science students who might be bright but can sometimes be very literal-minded. Keep writing and sharing your experiences with your readers. I’m among them. Darice and I will be leaving for the Berkshires in a couple of hours. We’re staying in Great Barrington for 2 days and then on Sat. we’re going onto to Williamstown where we’ll attend the wedding Sat. night. of Darice’s friend’s daughter, Kim. Then we’ll leave sometime on Sunday to visit you guys. Let’s stay in touch by phone for a more detailed itinerary. Till then, take care. Regards to Jamie. Hopefully, we’ll all eat together Sunday at A Touch of Garlic. Love forever, Dad

We Enjoy Your Opinion

