On haircuts, geocaching, and books…

It’s been exactly a month since my last post! Busy, busy, busy.

I got a haircut. This isn’t earth-shattering. I don’t get haircuts very often; usually preferring to let my hair grow as long as I can stand and then chopping it all off. This time “as long as I can stand” was about 1 year of growth and just past my shoulders. It was long enough to put into a nice braid. But, summer is coming, so off it came. I’ve had it cut since Friday and it keeps doing neat wavy things, so I actually bought a hair product meant to enhance waves and curls. Let’s see what happens.

I drove down to Philadelphia this weekend. This is the 3rd time I’ve made that drive since getting a car. For a 5-ish hour ride (it would be 4 hours straight through with no traffic and no stopping), I actually really enjoy it. I haven’t made the drive alone, yet, and I don’t think I would want to. It is far more fun to sing along to music with Jamie in the car too. I got to hit two geocaches while down there, adding another couple hundred miles to my travel bug. I’m going to have to plan a long-distance caching trip at some point in the future to get my travel bug as far as possible. Maybe a trip out to Seattle to visit a friend.

Sunday was a very nice lunch with my dad, Darice, her daughter, and her daughter’s boyfriend. All you can eat sushi is pretty fantastic, and the Butterfly Rolls (mango, pink soybean paper, crunchy stuff, and lobster) were the best! I then showed Darice how to set up a Blogger blog. I love WordPress, but I think Blogger is more streamlined and easier for someone who’s never blogged before.

This week is a short week, but I have so much work to do! We did a library survey to help our NEASC information and I have 400+ responses so far. That’s pretty respectable, but we do have around 1,200 students in the school. I’d liked to try to get the majority of them. Plus, I just got another 7 boxes of books off my big purchase. I hadn’t even quite finished my 24 boxes (I was down to 2) when the other 7 came in! I’m so glad that I don’t need to barcode them all. I love that they came processed. All I need to do is stamp them, add a due date slip, and put in the tattle-tape… oh, and shelve them. Luckily, I have two interns who can help out. They’re really great students, but sometimes homework needs to come first and they use the block to finish that. My books are piling up!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Springfield, weekend

We Enjoy Your Opinion

