10 Moments a School Librarian Knows Too Well

This fantastic post on BuzzFeed was shared with me: 29 Moments Any Librarian Knows Too Well. It was suggested that I do one specifically for school librarians. Here we go, in the BuzzFeed tradition.

 

#1: “I need to do this project for class and it is due in 10 minutes, can I finish it here right now?”

Ultimately, I’m going to say “yes,” and even write you a late pass to class, because I want you to do the assignment, but really? You should know better. Your teacher is going to be able to tell you did it in 10 minutes anyway.

 

#2: Where is your urban fiction? (Or any genre fiction)…

DSC00020

 

 

In fiction. This is a school library, books are not sorted by genre. You can use the catalog and find books by genre, in fact, I set up a special search for urban lit (and fantasy/sci-fi, steampunk, mystery, etc). Honestly, if you ask me for urban lit, you’re going to get Bluford High. If you ask me for a genre I read frequently, I’m going to point you in the direction of the book I just finished last week.

 

#3: “Can you get me through the web block?”

Technically, yes I can. But I won’t. You don’t need YouTube, you don’t need Amazon, you don’t need Facebook. You need to do your work.

 

 #4: Where’s your comic books? / You need more comic books!

DSC00021

 

The shelf over there that says “Graphic Literature.” And yes, I know I do. I could buy every collected graphic novel and manga out there and I’d still need more. There is no “enough” in regards to graphic novels.

 

#5: “Do I really need a pass to be here?” 

This isn’t just my rule. This is the school’s rule. Yes, you need a pass. Yes, it needs to be from your current block’s teacher. Yes, I will call to check if I think it looks wrong.

 

#6: Do you know that book? It just came out as a movie? It’s about that girl/that guy and they do stuff… 

DSC00019

 

Really? I;m surrounded by YA Lit. Do you mean Maze Runner, Divergent, Hunger Games, Vampire Academy, The Giver, If I Stay, or any other recent movie? Give me more details, please. I’ve probably read it.

 

#7: When a student claims to have returned a book to their middle school or elementary library and you realize that the librarian there has left between then and now so you can’t really check. 

Yup, lost book, no fine. Again.

 

#8: Banned Book Week

Yes, you can check out the “Banned Books.” That is why I put them on display. No book has every been actually banned from this library. “Librarians consider free access to information the foundation of democracy.”
― Marilyn JohnsonThis Book Is Overdue!: How Librarians and Cybrarians Can Save Us All

 

#9: Being asked “Can you stay late on Friday?” 

I stay late every day, at least 20 minutes late, sometimes an hour and a half. No, I cannot stay extra late on Friday.

 

#10: When students say “Thank you” or “You rock” or something like that.

Best feeling EVER.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under library

We Enjoy Your Opinion

