Adventures in Library Card Applications and Gender Neutral Bathrooms

I’m a big fan of gender-neutrality. I like the “my pronoun is…” option that I’ve seen at events like True Colors. It saves a lot of time and embrassament.

The Magpie Librarian: A Librarian's Guide to Modern Life and Etiquette

If I had my druthers, and I mean 100 percent of my druthers, every library would have the following (among other things): no gender option on the library card application and at least one gender neutral bathroom. My library is not there yet, but I think we’re on our way. We’ve made steps towards getting the gender box taken off the library card application. In the past, you had to mark either Male or Female on the form in order to complete it. Now, gender is still on the form, but it’s not required. It looks like this:

Capture

Anything with a red asterisk is necessary information to complete the form. Gender doesn’t have one, so if you skip it, you can still submit the library card form. When you hit the drop-down menu under gender, the only options are Male and Female.

This is not ideal. In a perfect world…

View original post 649 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under library

We Enjoy Your Opinion

