Soon-to-be-summer slowdown

Next week is THE last week of school for the 2014-2015 school year.

I’m not ready.

I have IB Juniors who still need to present history presentations. I’m loving these presentations; these scholars are amazing; they were asking about extra credit today (which I’m offering and have already posted about to their Edmodo page). They’re not happy with a B or C on presentations. They want those extra points.

Plus, I never thought I would say this, being a library teacher and not giving homework, but I have grading to do this weekend. At least it isn’t a lot (only 35 students!).

I have graphic lit and manga to pack up next week, because I know I need to lock that up over summer. I have books on shelves to straighten. Luckily, I have my game club kids who are more than willing to come to the library during their lunches to help (yes, and hang out a little, but that’s OK). I still have books to shelve!

I sent out my last library newsletter of the year. I have awesome ideas for next year, like author visits and research projects. I already know I want to have every ELA class (and some others!) come to the library for a library introduction, which will also involve reading a picture book as an ice-breaker. I want to do my scavenger hunts in the library again; I think the Batman-themed one went over so well, and the students liked the sticker they won, even though they originally claimed they were cheesy. One of the students who won stickers had said “Miss, we’re not in elementary school anymore,” and then was giggling as she put Superman stickers on her phone. Go figure.

By the way, the average number of students I see during breakfast time (between 7:05 and 7:30 am) is 17. The average number of students I see per lunch (three lunches a day) is 14. So that means 42 students per day would rather spend their 30 minutes of lunch in the library than going to the cafeteria. I was one of those students in high school too. I think those numbers are pretty cool.

The library has also beaten our book circulations from last year by about 100 circulations.

It’s been a good year. I hope next year is even better.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under library, Springfield, teaching

We Enjoy Your Opinion

